Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Heath wins IBBY Ena Noël award

Jack Heath has won the 2020 Ena Noël Award, a biennial prize administered by the Australian branch of the International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY) to encourage emerging writers and illustrators, for 500 Minutes of Danger (Scholastic).

The judges said that 500 Minutes of Danger, a collection of ten short action stories featuring children as they face dangers, is a ‘collection of fast-paced plots written by an author who does not talk down to readers’.

‘As each story is told, a more complex mystery unfolds which eventually links the stories together in a final climactic ending,’ the judges said. ‘Each short story provides thrilling adventures that children will want to read, with the added tension of stories intended to be read in real time with a countdown adding to the suspense.’

The Ena Noël Award was established in 1994 by IBBY Australia founding president Ena Noël and is open to Australian creators under the age of 35 who have had a book published in the two years prior to the award closing date.

For more details, see the IBBY Australia website.


Category: Local news