Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

‘The Yield’ takes hat-trick at 2020 NSW Prem’s Awards

The Yield by Tara June Winch (Hamish Hamilton) has swept the 2020 New South Wales Premier’s Literary Awards, winning Book of the Year, the Christina Stead Prize for Fiction and the People’s Choice Award.

The judges described Winch’s novel as ‘a ground-breaking and wholly original work of fiction by one of our most exciting contemporary writers’.

The winners in each category are:

Christina Stead Prize for Fiction ($40,000) 

The Yield (Tara June Winch, Hamish Hamilton) 

Douglas Stewart Prize for Nonfiction ($40,000)

Tiberius with a Telephone: The life and stories of William McMahon (Patrick Mullins, Scribe)

Kenneth Slessor Prize for Poetry ($30,000) 

Enfolded in the Wings of a Great Darkness (Peter Boyle, Vagabond Press)

Patricia Wrightson Prize for Children’s Literature ($30,000)

Ella and the Ocean (Lian Tanner illus by Jonathan Bentley, A&U)

Ethel Turner Prize for Young Adult’s Literature ($30,000)

Lenny’s Book of Everything (Karen Foxlee, A&U)

Multicultural NSW Award ($20,000)

The Pillars (Peter Polites, Hachette)

NSW Premier’s Prize for Indigenous writing (biennial award of $30,000)

The White Girl (Tony Birch, UQP)

UTS Glenda Adams Award for New Writing ($5000) 

Real Differences (S L Lim, Transit Lounge)

Nick Enright Prize for Playwriting ($30,000)

‘Counting and Cracking’ (S Shakthidharan and associate writer Eamon Flack, Belvoir and Co-curious)

Betty Roland Prize for Scriptwriting ($30,000) (Joint winners)

Missing (Kylie Bolton, SBS), and

The Cry episode 2 (Jacqueline Peske, Synchronicity Films).

The winners were announced online on 26 April.

For more information on the awards, see the State Library of NSW website.


Category: Awards Local news