Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Australia Institute Writer in Residency Program longlist announced

The longlist for the Australia Institute Writer in Residency Program has been announced. One winning writer will receive a $5000 stipend to undertake a two-week residency to develop a nonfiction book or major work.

The longlisted writers are:

  • Tanya Robyn Bretherton
  • Felicity Castagna
  • Danielle Clode
  • Leah Kaminsky
  • Rozanna Lilley
  • Maggie MacKellar
  • Oliver Mol
  • Fiona Murphy
  • Nadia Niaz
  • Jinghua Qian
  • Cher Tan.

This is the second year the residency has been offered, having previously been offered in 2017 in partnership with Endeavour House and known as the Endeavour House Writer in Residence program. This year the initiative has been rebranded, with independent think-tank The Australia Institute providing the winning applicant with a stipend of $2500 per week, a desk at the Institute’s office in Endeavour House, Canberra, and accommodation for the period of the residency.

In recognition of the impact of Covid-19 on writers, the Institute is offering a second residency, for which applications are open until Friday, 15 May. The winner of the first round will be drawn from the initial residency applications, while the winner of the second round will be chosen from all the initial residency project applications in addition to second-round project applications.

The winner of the 2017 residency was Naomi Parry. For more information, click here.


Category: Awards Local news