Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Peter Carey Short Story Award 2020 longlist announced

The longlist for the 2020 Peter Carey Short Story Award has been announced.

Chosen from over 300 entries, the 18 longlisted stories are:

  • ‘Once Were Three Sisters’ (Alice Mantel)
  • ‘The Doll’ (Allanah Hunt)
  • ‘Tight Lines’ (Allee Richards)
  • ‘Bock Bock’ (Andrew Roff)
  • ‘The Black Feather’ (Angela Savage)
  • ‘Company’ (George McElroy)
  • ‘Flight Mode’ (Charlotte Guest)
  • ‘Love Letters’ (Deborah Wardle)
  • ‘Caravan’ (Jenni Mazaraki)
  • ‘The Cockatoo’ (Joseph Earp)
  • ‘Preparation’ (Katerina Gibson)
  • ‘What Would Kim Do’ (Mirandi Riwoe)
  • ‘The Boy on the Blue Bike’ (Morna Seres)
  • ‘Youth in Chiaroscuro’ (Myles McGuire)
  • ‘Prawn Fishing with Medusa’ (Rebecca Slater)
  • ‘Splinter’ (Samantha-Ellen Bound)
  • ‘Flames’ (Scott Limbrick)
  • ‘Jobs Galore’ (Tanya Vavilova).

Organised by the Moorabool Shire Council, the award is for stories of 2000–3000 words, and is open to all Australian residents. The winner receives $1000 and the runner-up receives $500, with both stories to be published in the Spring 2020 edition of Meanjin.

The longlisted stories will be judged by writer Elizabeth Tan, with the shortlist to be announced in late May. This year’s winner and runner-up will be announced on Saturday, 13 June.

Last year’s winning story was ‘Let’s Talk Trojan Bee’ by Alex Cothren. For more information about the award, see the Moorabool Library website.


Category: Awards Local news