Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Shilton, Tan, Jonsberg win 2020 Chief Minister’s NT Book Awards

The NT Writers’ Centre has announced the winners of the 2020 Chief Minister’s NT Book Awards.

The winners in each category are:

Best fiction book

  • Walking With Camels: The story of Bertha Strehlow (Leni Shilton, UWAP)

Best nonfiction book

  • Stranger Country (Monica Tan, A&U)

Best children’s/YA book

  • A Song Only I Can Hear (Barry Jonsberg, A&U).

Each winner, selected by judges Nadine Davidoff and Mark O’Flynn from shortlists announced in April, receives $2000 prize money. This year, NT Writers’ Centre received a record 36 entries from books by 34 NT authors and illustrators.

This year’s awards ceremony was livestreamed via YouTube and Facebook on Monday, 25 May 2020.

Established in 2009, the biennial awards are open to authors living in the NT who had a book published in the previous two years. For more information about the Chief Minister’s NT Book Awards, visit the NT Writers’ Centre website.


Category: Awards Local news