Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Pan Mac and Nosy Crow win at 2020 British Book Awards; ‘Queenie’ wins book of the year

In the UK, the winners of the 2020 British Book Awards, known as the ‘Nibbies’, have been announced.

In the trade section of the awards, Pan Macmillan was named publisher of the year, while Nosy Crow won independent publisher of the year.

In retailing, Waterstones was named book retailer of the year and Booki-ish in Crickhowell was awarded independent bookshop of the year, while children’s bookseller of the year went to Moon Lane Ink in South London.

Candice Carty-Williams’ Queenie was named book of the year.

The full list of book award winners is:

Fiction book of the year

  • Girl, Woman, Other (Bernardine Evaristo, Penguin General)

Fiction: crime and thriller book of the year

  • My Sister, the Serial Killer (Oyinkan Braithwaite, Atlantic)

Debut book of the year

  • Queenie (Candice Carty-Williams, Trapeze).

Nonfiction lifestyle book of the year

  • Pinch of Nom (Kate Allinson and Kay Featherstone, Bluebird)

Nonfiction narrative book of the year

  • Three Women (Lisa Taddeo, Bloomsbury)

Audiobook of the year

  • The Testaments (Margaret Atwood, Vintage Digital)

Children’s fiction book of the year

  • The Good Girl’s Guide to Murder (Holly Jackson, Egmont)

Children’s illustrated and nonfiction book of the year

  • The Smeds and The Smoos (Julia Donaldson and Axel Scheffler, Scholastic).

For a full list of trade awards winners, click here.


Category: Awards International news