Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Prize 2020 shortlist announced

The Australian Book Review (ABR) has announced the shortlist for the 2020 Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Prize.

The shortlisted works and their authors are:

  • ‘Egg Timer’ by C J Garrow (Vic)
  • ‘Hieroglyph’ by Simone Hollander (Colorado, USA)
  • ‘River Story’ by Mykaela Saunders (NSW).

The judging panel of Gregory Day, Josephine Rowe and Ellen van Neerven selected the shortlist from a record 1450 entries from around the world.

Now in its 10th year, the prize is worth a total of $12,500 in 2020. All shortlisted stories will appear in ABR’s August fiction issue.

The judges also commended five other stories: ‘Lucky Charms’ by Jennifer Down (Vic), ‘I Believe’ by V Sanjay Kumar (India), ‘Wait for Me’ by Jasmin McGaughey (Qld) , ‘Two Africas’ by Jean McNeil (UK), and ‘Bedford Jeune’ by Lauren Sarazen (France).

The winner will be announced during an online event on Thursday, 13 August.

For more information, see the ABR website.


Category: Awards Local news