Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Nib Literary Award 2020 longlist announced

The longlist for the $20,000 Mark and Evette Moran Literary Award, known as ‘the Nib’, has been announced.

The longlisted titles are:

  • Nothing New (Robyn Annear, Text)
  • After the Count (Stephanie Convery, Viking)
  • Olive Cotton: A life in photography (Helen Ennis, HarperCollins)
  • Fathoms: The world in the whale (Rebecca Giggs, Scribe)
  • Benevolence (Julie Janson, Magabala)
  • Displaced: A rural life (John Kinsella, Transit Lounge)
  • The Deceptions (Suzanne Leal, A&U)
  • Women, Men and the Whole Damn Thing (David Leser, A&U)
  • The Joy of High Places (Patti Miller, NewSouth)
  • The Trials of Portnoy (Patrick Mullins, Scribe)
  • Friends and Rivals (Brenda Niall, Text)
  • David Campbell: A life of the poet (Jonathan Persse, Australian Scholarly Publishing)
  • Truganini (Cassandra Pybus, A&U)
  • Who Owns History? (Geoffrey Robertson, Knopf)
  • Bruny (Heather Rose, A&U)
  • The Hilton Bombing (Imre Salusinszky, MUP)
  • The Stranger Artist (Quentin Sprague, Hardie Grant)
  • Fake (Stephanie Wood, Vintage).

The shortlist will be announced on 1 September, and each shortlisted author will receive $1000. The overall winner and the recipient of the people’s choice prize will be be announced on 12 November.

Established by the Waverley Library in 2002, the Nib recognises the role of research in fiction and nonfiction.

For more information about the award, visit the Waverley Library website.


Category: Awards Local news