Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Queensland Poetry Festival awards 2020 winners announced

The winners of the 2020 Queensland Poetry Festival (QPF) awards have been announced.

The winning poets in each category are:

Thomas Shapcott Poetry Prize for an Unpublished Manuscript ($2000 and publication by University of Queensland Press)

  • Gavin Yuan Gao for ‘At the Altar of Touch’
  • Runner-up: Ashley Haywood

Val Vallis Award for an Unpublished Poem ($1000)

  • Helen Lucas for ‘Heirloom’
  • Runner-up ($500): Sarah Rice for ‘My time in Govie Housing draws to a close’

XYZ Prize for Innovation in Spoken Word ($1000)

  • Eloise Grills and Jaslyn Robertson for ‘erotic thriller’

Oodgeroo Noonuccal Indigenous Poetry Prize

  • Mykaela Saunders for ‘Choice Cuts’

Emerging Older Poets Mentorship (feedback and advice from Philip Neilsen and publication in Overland)

  • S J Finn.

Chosen from shortlists released earlier in the month, the winners were announced via an online event on Friday, 31 July. For more information about the awards, and the shortlisted poets, visit the QPF website.



Category: Awards Local news