Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Readings announces 2020 New Australian Fiction Prize shortlist

Readings has announced the shortlist for its 2020 New Australian Fiction Prize.

The shortlisted books are:

This year’s judges were Readings Carlton manager Joe Rubbo and booksellers Kara Nicholson, Kara McQueen and Andras Kerekes. Readings managing director Mark Rubbo and 2019 winner Alice Robinson will join the panel to select the winner.

The award, now in its seventh year, recognises ‘exciting and exceptional new contributions to local literature’ and is open to first or second published works of fiction by Australian authors. The winner usually receives $3000. However, due to the Covid-19 pandemic Readings is unable to offer prize money for any of its three awards in 2020.

For more information about this year’s shortlist, see the Readings blog.

The winner of the prize will be announced in October.


Category: Awards Local news