Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Nib Literary Award 2020 shortlist announced

The shortlist for the 2020 Mark and Evette Moran Literary Award, known as ‘the Nib’, has been announced.

The shortlisted titles are:

  • After the Count: The death of Davey Browne (Stephanie Convery, Viking)
  • Fathoms: The world in the whale (Rebecca Giggs, Scribe)
  • The Deceptions (Suzanne Leal, A&U)
  • Friends and Rivals: Four Great Australian Writers—Barbara Baynton, Ethel Turner, Nettie Palmer, Henry Handel Richardson (Brenda Niall, Text)
  • The Hilton Bombing: Evan Pederick and the Ananda Marga (Imre Salusinszky, MUP)
  • The Stranger Artist: Life at the edge of Kimberley painting (Quentin Sprague, Hardie Grant).

Each shortlisted author receives an Alex Buzo Shortlist Prize of $1000, and voting for the $1000 Nib People’s Choice Prize is open to the public until 1 October.

The winner of the Nib, to be announced on 12 November, receives $20,000. This year’s all-nonfiction shortlist was chosen from a longlist of 18 titles announced in July.

Established by the Waverley Library in 2002, the Nib recognises the role of research in fiction and nonfiction. The winner of last year’s award was Nadia Wheatley for her memoir Her Mother’s Daughter (Text), while the People’s Choice Prize went to Alice Gorman for Dr Space Junk vs The Universe (NewSouth).

For more information about the award, and to vote for the People’s Choice Prize, visit the Waverley Library website.


Category: Awards Local news