Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Queensland Literary Awards 2020 winners announced

The winners of the 2020 Queensland Literary Awards have been announced.

The winning titles in each category, chosen from shortlists announced in August, are:

Queensland Premier’s Award for a Work of State Significance ($25,000) 

  • Heartland: How rugby league explains Queensland (Joe Gorman, UQP)

Fiction Book Award ($15,000)

  • Stone Sky Gold Mountain (Mirandi Riwoe, UQP)

Nonfiction Book Award ($15,000)

  • Olive Cotton: A life in photography (Helen Ennis, HarperCollins)

Children’s Book Award ($15,000)

  • As Fast As I Can (Penny Tangey, UQP)

Young Adult Book Award ($15,000)

  • Ghost Bird (Lisa Fuller, UQP)

Steele Rudd Award for a Short Story Collection ($15,000)

  • Lucky Ticket (Joey Bui, Text)

Judith Wright Calanthe Award for a Poetry Collection ($15,000)

  • Heide (Pi.O, Giramondo)

David Unaipon Award for an Emerging Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander Writer ($15,000)

  • ‘The Space Between the Paperbark’ (Jazz Money, poetry, New South Wales)

Glendower Award for an Emerging Queensland Writer ($15,000)

  • ‘If You’re Happy’ (Fiona Robertson)

Queensland Premier’s Young Publishers and Writers Award ($12,500)

  • Zenobia Frost
  • Yen-Rong Wong

People’s Choice Book of the Year Award ($10,000)

  • A Lifetime of Impossible Days (Tabitha Bird, Viking).

The winners were announced in an online event hosted by the State Library of Queensland (SLQ) on Friday, 4 September. For more information about the winning works and writers in each category, visit the SLQ website.



Category: Awards Local news