Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

NSW Premier’s History Awards 2020 winners announced

The State Library of NSW (SLNSW) has announced the winners of the 2020 NSW Premier’s History Awards, worth $15,000 each.

The winning works in each category, chosen from shortlists announced in August, are:

Australian history prize

  • Bedlam at Botany Bay (James Dunk, NewSouth)

General history prize

  • The Warrior, the Voyager, and the Artist: Three lives in an age of empire (Kate Fullagar, Yale University Press)

NSW regional and community history prize 

  • Surviving New England: A history of Aboriginal resistance and resilience through the first forty years of colonial apocalypse (Callum Clayton-Dixon, Nēwara Aboriginal Corporation)

Young people’s history prize

  • The Good Son: A story from the First World War, told in miniature (Pierre-Jacques Ober, Jules Ober & Felicity Coonan, Candlewick Press)

Digital history prize

  • Experiment Street — the true history of a city lane’ (Noëlle Janaczewska, ABC Radio National’s The History Listen)

The winners were announced on Friday 4 September. For more information, see the State Library of NSW website.


Category: Awards Local news