Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Vickerman wins SLQ Young Writers Award

Ellen Vickerman has won the the State Library of Queensland (SLQ) Young Writers Award for her short story ‘Unit K13’, described by the judges as ‘a standout winner’.

Vickerman receives $2000 and her story will be published by Griffith Review in late September.

The three runners-up, who each receive $500 and Queensland Writers Centre membership, are:

  • Thomas Alan for ‘Dogs’
  • Callum Brockett for ‘Bunya Pine’
  • Emily Humphreys for ‘This is not a happy story’.

The Young Writers Award is an annual short story competition open to Queenslanders aged 18–25. Past winners include Tara June Winch, Benjamin Law and Shastra Deo.

For more information about the award, and to read the stories by the 2020 runners-up, see the SLQ website.


Category: Awards Local news