Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Richell Prize 2020 shortlist announced

Hachette Australia and the Emerging Writers’ Festival (EWF) have announced the shortlist for the 2020 Richell Prize for emerging writers.

The shortlisted writers and their works are:

  • ‘The Boy Who Wept Rabbits’ (Benjamin Forbes)
  • ‘Cities of Refuge’ (Mark Hennessy)
  • ‘Meddies’ (Kerry Jewell)
  • ‘Flaring Out’ (Scott Limbrick)
  • ‘Petrichor’ (Aisling Smith).

The shortlist was chosen from a longlist of 22 announced in September. Applicants were required to submit the first three chapters and a synopsis of a proposed work of adult fiction or narrative nonfiction.

The winner receives $10,000 and mentoring from a Hachette publisher to help develop the work for publication. Hachette has first option to consider the finished work and shortlisted entries for publication, while the Guardian will publish an extract of the first chapter of the winning work and a profile on the winning writer.

Else Fitzgerald was the recipient of last year’s prize for her short story collection Nearly Curtains. The 2018 winner, Ruth McIver’s thriller I Shot the Devil, will be published in 2021.

The winner of the 2020 Richell Prize will be announced on Monday, 9 November. For more information, see the EWF website.


Category: Awards Local news