Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Inaugural $50k Historical Novel Prize longlist announced

The Historical Novel Society Australasia (HNSA) has announced the longlist for the inaugural ARA Historical Novel Prize.

The HNSA has also confirmed sponsor ARA has doubled its funding for the award from an initial pledge of $30,000 to a total prize pool of $60,000. The overall 2020 award winner will receive $50,000 while $5000 will each go to the two remaining shortlisted authors.

The novels longlisted for the prize are:

  • Master of My Fate (Sienna Brown, Vintage)
  • Bodies of Men (Nigel Featherstone, Hachette)
  • Shepherd (Catherine Jinks, Text)
  • Stone Sky Gold Mountain (Mirandi Riwoe, UQP)
  • The Electric Hotel (Dominic Smith, A&U)
  • Damascus (Christos Tsiolkas, A&U)
  • The Dictionary of Lost Words (Pip Williams, Affirm Press)
  • The Yield (Tara June Winch, Hamish Hamilton).

A shortlist of three will be announced on 28 October, with the winner announced on 10 November.

For more information see the HNSA website.


Category: Awards Local news