Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Ned Kelly Awards 2020 winners announced

The Australian Crime Writers Association (ACWA) has announced the winners of this year’s Ned Kelly Awards for Australian crime writing.

The winning works and authors in each category are:

Best crime fiction

  • The Wife and the Widow (Christian White, Affirm Press)

Best debut crime fiction

  • Present Tense (Natalie Conyer, Clan Destine Press)

Best true crime

  • Bowraville (Dan Box, Viking)

Best international crime fiction

  • The Chain (Adrian McKinty, Hachette).

The winners were chosen from shortlists announced in August, with US-based Irish author Adrian McKinty taking home the inaugural best international crime fiction award.

Established in 1996, the Ned Kelly Awards are Australia’s oldest prizes honouring published crime fiction and true crime writing. For more information about the awards, visit the ACWA website.


Category: Awards Local news