Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Walkley Book Award 2020 longlist announced

The Walkley Book Award longlist for 2020 has been announced.

The longlisted titles are:

  •  After the Count (Stephanie Convery, Viking)
  • City On Fire (Antony Dapiran, Scribe)
  • Hazelwood (Tom Doig, Viking)
  • Buckley’s Chance (Garry Linnell, Michael Joseph)
  • Body Count (Paddy Manning, S&S)
  • We Can’t Say We Didn’t Know (Sophie McNeill, ABC Books)
  • Fallen (Lucie Morris-Marr, A&U)
  • Penny Wong (Margaret Simons, Black Inc.)
  • The Altar Boys (Suzanne Smith, ABC Books).

The shortlist will be announced on 5 November and the winners will be announced on 20 November in a ceremony to be broadcast live on Sky News Extra and streamed on the Walkley website from 7pm AEST.

The Walkley Book Award recognises excellence in Australian nonfiction and long-form journalism. Last year’s winner was Leigh Sales for Any Ordinary Day (Penguin).

To see the full list of Walkley Award finalists, see the website.



Category: Awards Local news