Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

CBCA Book of the Year 2020 winners announced

The winners of the 2020 Children’s Book Council of Australia (CBCA) Book of the Year Awards have been announced.

The winning titles and honour books in each category are:

Older readers: winner

  • This Is How We Change the Ending (Vikki Wakefield, Text)

Older readers: honour books

  • The Boy Who Steals Houses (C G Drews, Hachette)
  • Ghost Bird (Lisa Fuller, UQP)

Younger readers: winner

  • The Little Wave (Pip Harry, UQP)

Younger readers: honour books

  • The Glimme (Emily Rodda, illus by Marc McBride, Scholastic)
  • The Secrets of Magnolia Moon (Edwina Wyatt, illus by Katherine Quinn, Walker)

Early childhood: winner

  • My Friend Fred (Frances Watts, illus by A Yi, A&U)

Early childhood: honour books

  • When Billy Was a Dog (Kirsty Murray, illus by Karen Blair, A&U)
  • Goodbye House, Hello House (Margaret Wild,illus by Ann James, A&U)

Picture books: winner

  • I Need a Parrot (Chris McKimmie, Ford Street)

Picture books: honour books

  • Nop (Caroline Magerl, Walker)
  • Three (Stephen Michael King, Scholastic)

Eve Pownall Award for information books: winner

  • Young Dark Emu: A truer history (Bruce Pascoe, Magabala)

Eve Pownall Award for information books: honour books

  • The Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Ugly Animals (Sami Bayly, Lothian)
  • Wilam: A Birrarung story (Aunty Joy Murphy & Andrew Kelly, illus by Lisa Kennedy, Walker)

Crichton Award for new illustrators: winner

  • Baby Business (Jasmine Seymour, Magabala).

The winners and honour books were chosen from shortlists announced in March.

For more information about the CBCA Awards, see the CBCA website.



Category: Awards Local news