Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

‘The Unforgiven’ shortlisted for UK sports book award

Ashley Gray’s The Unforgiven (Pitch Publishing) has been shortlisted for the UK-based William Hill Sports Book of the Year award.

The Unforgiven tells the story of the 20 West Indies cricketers who toured apartheid South Africa in the 1980s, and were shunned upon their return to the Caribbean. It’s one of four books shortlisted for the award, with the winner to receive a £30,000 ($A55,000) cash prize.

The other shortlisted books are:

  • Born Fighter (Ruqsana Begum, S&S)
  • The World Beneath Their Feet (Scott Ellsworth, John Murray Press)
  • The Breath of Sadness: On love, grief and cricket (Ian Ridley, Floodlit Dreams).

The winner will be announced on 3 December. For more information about the William Hill Sports Book of the Year award, click here.


Category: Local news