Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Six Australian nominees for 2021 Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award

Six Australian authors, illustrators and organisations have been announced as candidates for the 2021 Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award, the world’s richest prize for children’s literature.

The Australian candidates are:

  • Jeannie Baker
  • Ursula Dubosarsky
  • Susanne Gervey
  • The Indigenous Literacy Foundation
  • Margo Lanagan
  • Magabala Books.

The award carries a cash prize of five million krona (A$797,900). A total of 263 candidates from 69 countries were nominated for this year’s prize. The UK leads the nominations with 20 candidates, followed by Sweden with 14 and Norway with 12.

To view the full list see the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award website.

The winner will be announced on the 13 of April 2021.



Category: Awards Local news