Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

National Book Award winners announced  

In the US, the winners of this year’s National Book Awards have been announced.

The winning titles in each category are:


  • Interior Chinatown (Charles Yu, Europa Editions)


  • The Dead Are Arising: The Life of Malcolm X (Les Payne & Tamara Payne, Viking)


  • DMZ Colony (Don Mee Choi, Wave)

Translated literature

  • Tokyo Ueno Station (Yu Miri, trans by Morgan Giles, Tilted Axis Press)

Young people’s literature

  • King and the Dragonflies (Kacen Callender, Scholastic).

The winners were chosen from shortlists announced last month.

Two lifetime achievement awards were also awarded: writer Walter Mosley received the National Book Foundation’s Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters, and late Simon & Schuster CEO Carolyn Reidy received the Literarian Award for Outstanding Service to the American Literary Community.

For more information about this year’s awards, see the National Book Foundation website.


Category: International news