Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Prime Minister’s Literary Awards 2020 winners announced

The winners of the 2020 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards have been announced.

The winning titles in each category are:


  • The Yield (Tara June Winch, Hamish Hamilton)

Nonfiction (joint winners)

  • Songspirals: Sharing women’s wisdom of Country through songlines (Gay’wu Group of Women, A&U)
  • Sea People: The puzzle of Polynesia (Christina Thompson, HarperCollins)

Australian history

  • Meeting the Waylo: Aboriginal encounters in the Archipelago (Tiffany Shellam, UWA Publishing)


Children’s literature

  • Cooee Mittigar: A story on Darug songlines (Jasmine Seymour, illus by Leanne Mulgo Watson, Magabala)

Young adult literature

The winners in each category, chosen from shortlists announced in November, receive $80,000 and the shortlisted writers receive $5000. All prizes are tax-free. Winners were announced at a ceremony on 10 December in Canberra. For more information about the awards, see the website.


Category: Awards Local news