Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship 2021 shortlist announced

Writers Victoria has announced the shortlist for the 2021 Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship, awarded annually to an Australian writer for a proposed biographical work.

The shortlisted writers and their projects are:

  • Jillian Graham for a biography of Australian composer and arts activist Margaret Sutherland
  • Amanda Lourie writing on English-born Australian anthropologist and explorer A W Howitt
  • Jo Oliver for a biography of Australian modernist artist Adelaide Perry
  • Sheila Ngoc Pham writing about Australian science-fiction writer and psychotherapist Anne Spencer Parry
  • Kate Rice for a biography of Australian mother and daughter Marian Dunn and Marian Marcus Clarke
  • Mandy Sayer for her proposal on the McDonagh sisters, Australia’s first female filmmakers
  • Michelle Scott Tucker, writing a memoir for Torres Strait Islander actor, film and television writer, director and producer Aaron Fa’Aoso.

The $15,000 fellowship will be judged by biographers Jenny Hocking and Jeff Sparrow, Rowley’s sister Della, and Rowley’s friend and co-initiator of the fellowship Lynn Buchanan. The winner will be announced at Adelaide Writers Week on Wednesday, 3 March, following the Hazel Rowley Memorial lecture to be given by Jacqueline Kent.

Now in its 10th year, the Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship was established in 2011 by the Hazel Rowley Literary Fund with the support of Writers Victoria to encourage Australian authors to attain a high standard of biography writing and to commemorate the life, ideas and writing of Rowley, who died in 2011. Five works by fellowship recipients have published to date: Jacqueline Kent’s Vida: A Woman for Our Time (Viking), Gabrielle Carey’s Only Happiness Here: In search of Elizabeth von Arnim (UQP), Mary Hoban’s An Unconventional Wife: The life of Julia Sorell Arnold (Scribe), Maxine Beneba Clarke’s The Hate Race (Hachette) and Stephany Steggall’s Interestingly Enough… The Life of Tom Keneally (Nero).

Lance Richardson won the 2020 fellowship for his project on writer, naturalist and Zen Buddhist Peter Matthiessen.

For more information about the Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship, visit the Writers Victoria website.


Category: Awards Local news