Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Ockham New Zealand Book Awards 2021 shortlists announced

The shortlists for the 2021 Ockham New Zealand Book Awards have been announced.

The shortlisted titles in each category, chosen from longlists announced in January, are:

Jann Medlicott Acorn Prize for Fiction

  • Nothing to See (Pip Adam, Victoria University Press)
  • Bug Week (Airini Beautrais, Victoria University Press)
  • Remote Sympathy (Catherine Chidgey, Victoria University Press)
  • Sprigs (Brannavan Gnanalingam, Lawrence & Gibson)

General Nonfiction

  • Specimen: Personal Essays (Madison Hamill, Victoria University Press)
  • This Pākehā Life: An Unsettled Memoir (Alison Jones, Bridget Williams Books)
  • Te Hāhi Mihinare |The Māori Anglican Church (Hirini Kaa, Bridget Williams Books)
  • The Dark is Light Enough: Ralph Hotere a Biographical Portrait (Vincent O’Sullivan, Penguin)

Mary and Peter Biggs Award for Poetry

  • The Savage Coloniser Book (Tusiata Avia, Victoria University Press)
  • Funkhaus (Hinemoana Baker, Victoria University Press)
  • National Anthem (Mohamed Hassan, Dead Bird Books)
  • Magnolia木蘭 (Nina Mingya Powles, Seraph Press)

Booksellers Aotearoa New Zealand Award for Illustrated Nonfiction

  • Marti Friedlander: Portraits of the Artists (Leonard Bell, Auckland University Press)
  • Hiakai: Modern Māori Cuisine (Monique Fiso, Godwit)
  • An Exquisite Legacy: The Life and Work of New Zealand Naturalist G.V. Hudson (George Gibbs, Potton & Burton)
  • Nature—Stilled (Jane Ussher, Te Papa Press).

The winner of the fiction award receives NZ$55,000 (A$53,180), while the other category winners each receive NZ$10,000 (A$9670).

The winners, including the Best First Book Awards, will be announced at a ceremony on 12 May, during the 2021 Auckland Writers Festival.

For more information about the New Zealand Book Awards, click here.


Category: Awards Local news