Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

ASA writers and illustrators mentorship program winners announced

The Australian Society of Authors (ASA) has announced the winners of its 2021 Award Mentorship Program for Writers and Illustrators.

Children’s and YA 

  • Inda Ahmad Zabri
  • Bianca Breen
  • Kay Crabbe
  • Polly Jude
  • Julie Paine
  • Tami Sussman
  • Verity Croker (highly commended)
  • Zewlan Moor (highly commended)
  • Annie Wilson (highly commended)

Picture book illustration 

  • Jenny Hale
  • Yvonne Low


  • Trish Bolton
  • Jennifer Castles
  • Dawn Crabb
  • Katelin Farnsworth
  • Kylie Hough
  • Kylie Ladd
  • Rhonda Roberts
  • Yichen Shi
  • Esme Wilmot
  • Deborah Ritchie (highly commended)

Narrative nonfiction

  • Madelaine Dickie
  • Sam Elkin
  • Ghina Makari Cane (highly commended)


  • Kelley Swain.

With support from the Copyright Agency Cultural Fund, each winner receives a 20-hour mentorship with an experienced writer, editor or illustrator, as well as a one-year ASA membership, a free ticket to its Literary Speed Dating event and access to its Pathways to Publishing Program. The five highly commended applicants receive a two-hour consultation on the first 10 pages of their project, as well as access to the Pathways to Publishing Program.

In its third year, the program received close to 300 applications, a 20% increase from last year’s entries. For more information, see the ASA website.


Category: Local news