Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

ABIA Rising Stars 2021 shortlist announced

The shortlist for the Australian Book Industry Awards (ABIA) 2021 Rising Star of the Year Award has been announced.

The Rising Star Award is given to an emerging talent in Australian publishing who has spent less than 10 years in the industry.

The shortlisted publishing professionals are:

The judges said: ‘There was an exceptional calibre of candidates to consider and it was very difficult to choose the shortlist. The breadth of talent amongst publishing professionals in Australia is on display in the shortlist again this year.’

HarperCollins senior book designer Hazel Lam was the recipient of the 2020 Rising Star Award. The Rising Star Awards are now in their fourth year.

The 2021 ABIA longlists were announced in February, and the shortlists will be announced early next week. For more information about the 2021 Rising Star Award shortlist, see the ABIA website.

The ABIA awards winners will be announced at an evening event on Wednesday, 28 April.

Read interviews with each of the 2021 ABIA Rising Star Award nominees here.


Category: Awards Local news