Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Women’s Prize for Fiction 2021 shortlist announced

In the UK, the shortlist for the 2021 Women’s Prize for Fiction has been announced. Now in its 26th year, the £30,000 (A$53,600) prize is presented annually to the best novel written in English by a woman.

The shortlisted novels are:

  • How the One-Armed Sister Sweeps Her House (Cherie Jones, Tinder Press)
  • No One is Talking About This (Patricia Lockwood, Bloomsbury)
  • Piranesi (Susanna Clarke, Bloomsbury)
  • The Vanishing Half (Brit Bennett, Little, Brown)
  • Transcendent Kingdom (Yaa Gyasi, Viking)
  • Unsettled Ground (Claire Fuller, Fig Tree).

The shortlist features two British writers, two American, one Ghanaian-American, and one Barbadian, chosen from a longlist of 16 announced in March. The winner will be announced on 7 July.

UK author Maggie O’Farrell won last year’s Women’s Prize for Fiction for her novel Hamnet (Tinder Press).

For more information about the prize and this year’s shortlisted titles, see the website.


Category: International news