Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Vogel Award 2021 shortlist announced, winner announced today

The shortlist has been announced for the 2021 Australian/Vogel’s Literary Award for an unpublished manuscript by a writer under the age of 35.

The three titles on this year’s shortlist are:

  • Hopeless Kingdom, by Kgshak Akec
  • Now That I See You, by Emma Batchelor
  • Blue, by Deborah Thomas.

Extracts from the shortlisted works can be read at the Australian. The winner will be announced at an online ceremony on Facebook Live at midday today, 30 April. The winner will receive $20,000, with the winning title to be published by Allen & Unwin and available in stores immediately.

Last year’s winner was A Treacherous Country by K M Kruimink.


Category: Awards Local news