Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Inaugural Kuracca Prize longlist announced

Overland has announced the longlist for the inaugural Kuracca Prize for Australian Literature, created in honour of the late Wiradjuri elder, poet, writer, activist and artist Kerry Reed-Gilbert.

The longlisted writers and their works are:

  • Anthea Yang for ‘Tending joy at the end of the world’
  • Zana Fraillon for ‘A map of passings’ and ‘The gargoyle’
  • Anders Villani for ‘Collecting brown matter in lockdown as the climate warms’
  • Andy Kovacic for ‘Jovial’
  •  Yeena Kirkbright for ‘The grief tourist’
  • Verity Oswin for ‘The fence’
  • Dave Drayton for ‘Centocartography: Campsie’
  • Nandini Shah for ‘Me, the (failed) revolutionary’
  • Melanie Saward for ‘Grace’
  • Claire Language for ‘Freedom (memoirs of an urchin’
  • Adam Brannigan for ‘Lest we forget’ and ‘Great grandmother Arrabrilya’
  • Shari Kocher for ‘Wintercearig’.

The prize is open to all Australian writers for fiction, poetry, essay, memoir, creative nonfiction, cartoon or graphic stories, and digital or audio storytelling. The longlist was chosen from almost 500 submissions across all categories by judges Jeanine Leane, Justin Clemens and Elena Gomez.

This year, the winner will be awarded $5000, while two runners-up will each receive $1000 and, all three winners will be published ‘where possible’ in the winter issue of Overland. For more information about the 2021 Kuracca Prize, see the Overland website.


Category: Awards Local news