Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Carmel Bird Digital Literary Award 2021 shortlist announced

The shortlist for the 2021 Carmel Bird Digital Literary Award has been announced.

Selected from 100 submissions, including short story collections and novellas of up to 30,000 words, the 12 shortlisted works chosen by judge Roanna Gonsalves are:

  • Emma Ashmere, ‘Missing’
  • Jarni Blakkarly, ‘Talkin’ About a Revolution’
  • Odette Des Forges, ‘Woman walks into a bar’
  • Dominique Hecq, ‘Smacked’
  • J Huppatz, ‘The Net’
  • Jodie Kewley, ‘Laid Bare’
  • Rashida Murphy, ‘The Bonesetter’s Fee and other stories’
  • Andrew Nest, ‘Backtracking’
  • Stephen Orr, ‘Eleven Stories’
  • Cheryl Rogers, ‘The Other Side of the River’
  • Su-May Tan, ‘Lake Corona and Other Stories’
  • David Wright, ‘A Condensed History of Australian Camels’.

The winner, who receives $3000, and two runners-up, who each receive $1000, all receive publishing agreements with Spineless Wonders.

Launched in 2017, the Carmel Bird Digital Literary Award is hosted by short fiction publisher Spineless Wonders and showcases new works of short fiction from Australian authors. Last year’s winner was Michalia Arathimos for her short story collection Apologia.

Information about the shortlistees and their works can be found on the Spineless Wonders website. Winners will be announced in September 2021.


Category: Awards Local news