Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Reynolds, Smith win 2021 Carnegie, Greenaway medals

The UK Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals (CILIP) has announced the winners of the 2021 Carnegie and Kate Greenaway medals.

Jason Reynolds won the Carnegie Medal for children’s and YA books for Look Both Ways (Atheneum Books)—a series of interconnecting stories about a group of children walking home from school, which the judges describes as ‘a breathtakingly gripping collection of intertwined stories brimming with humour, empathy and humanity’.

Sydney Smith won the Kate Greenaway Medal for Small in the City (Walker Books), which shows a young child getting off a bus then giving advice about being safe in the city. Judges described it as ‘an immersive’ book that builds to a moving emotional end, and is ‘almost cinematic in its depiction of a child’s view of an imposing urban landscape’.

Reynolds and Smith each receive books worth £500 (A$920) to donate to a library of their choice and a £5000 (A$9186) cash prize.

The winners were chosen from shortlists announced in March.


Category: International news