Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

ALS Gold Medal 2021 shortlist announced

The shortlist for the 2021 Australian Literature Society (ALS) Gold Medal has been announced.

The shortlisted titles are:

  • The Rain Heron (Robbie Arnott, Text)
  • Cadaver Dog (Luke Best, UQP)
  • The Animals in That Country (Laura Jean MacKay, Scribe)
  • The Adversary (Ronnie Scott, Penguin)
  • Song of the Crocodile (Nardi Simpson, Hachette)
  • Throat (Ellen van Neerven, UQP).

Established in 1929, the ALS Gold Medal is presented annually by the Association for the Study of Australian Literature (ASAL) for ‘the best contribution to literature in Australia’ in the preceding calendar year.

The winner will be announced in an online celebration to open Australia’s Triennial Literary Studies Convention on 20 July. The announcement, and the subsequent Barry Andrews Memorial Address, to be delivered by Behrouz Boochani, are both open to the public.

Last year’s ALS Gold Medal winner was Charmaine Papertalk Green for her poetry collection Nganajungu Yagu (Cordite).


Category: Awards Local news