Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Aurealis Awards 2020 winners announced

The winners of the 2020 Aurealis Awards, presented for science fiction, fantasy and horror writing in Australia, have been announced.

The winners are:

Best horror novel

  • None Shall Sleep (Ellie Marney, A&U)

Best fantasy novel

  • The Left-Handed Booksellers of London (Garth Nix, A&U)

Best science fiction novel (joint winners)

  • The Animals in That Country (Laura Jean McKay, Scribe)
  • Repo Virtual (Corey J White, Publishing)

Best anthology

  • Rebuilding Tomorrow (ed by Tsana Dolichva, Twelfth Planet Press)

Best young adult novel

  • The Erasure Initiative (Lili Wilkinson, A&U)

Best children’s fiction

  • The Lost Soul Atlas (Zana Fraillon, Lothian)

Best graphic novel/illustrated work 

  • Under-Earth (Chris Gooch, Top Shelf)

Best collection

  • The Heart is a Mirror for Sinners and Other Stories (Angela Slatter, PS Publishing)

Best young adult short story

  • ‘Dingo & Sister’ (Nikky Lee, Andromeda Spaceways Magazine #78)

Best horror short story

  • ‘Phoenix Pharmaceuticals’ (Jessica Nelson-Tyers, Cancer, The Zodiac Series, #7, Deadset Press) 

Best horror novella

  • ‘The Saltbush Queen’ (Chris Mason Outback Horrors Down Under, Things in The Well) 

Best fantasy short story

  • ‘Truth Be Told’ (Louise Pieper, Unnatural Order, CSFG)

Best fantasy novella 

  • ‘Dingo & Sister’ (Nikky Lee, Andromeda Spaceways Magazine #78)

Best science fiction short story

  • ‘Mary, Mary’ (Fiona Bell, Aurealis #135) 

Best science fiction novella

  • ‘The Weight of the Air, The Weight of the World’ (T R Napper, Neon Leviathan, Grimdark Magazine)

Convenors’ award for excellence: 

  • Never Afters: Female Friendship and Collaboration in Contemporary Re-visioned Fairy Tales by Women (Kirstyn McDermott).

The winners were announced during an online ceremony on 8 July.


Category: Awards Local news