Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Prize 2021 shortlist announced

The Australian Book Review (ABR) has announced the shortlist for the 2021 Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Prize.

The shortlisted works and their authors are:

  • ‘The Enemy Asyndeton’ by Camilla Chaudhary (NSW)
  • ‘A Fall From Grace’ by John Richards (Qld)
  • ‘There Are No Stars Here, Either’ by Lauren Sarazen (France).

The judging panel of Gregory Day, Melinda Harvey and Elizabeth Tan selected the shortlist from over 1400 entries from around the world. All shortlisted stories will appear in ABR’s August 2021 issue.

Now in its 11th year, the Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Prize is worth a total of $12,500. In 2020 Mykaela Saunders received $6000 for her winning entry ‘River Story’.

The winner of this year’s prize will be announced during an online event on Tuesday, 10 August. Read the judges’ comments on the shortlisted stories and view the full longlist on the ABR website.


Category: Awards Local news