Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Kuracca Prize 2021 winner announced

The winner and runners up in the inaugural Kuracca Prize for Australian Literature have been announced.

Chosen from a longlist of 12 authors, Adam Brannigan won the $5000 prize for his stories ‘Great grandmother Arrabrilya’ and ‘Lest we forget’. The two runners up, who receive $1000 each, were Yeena Kirkbright for ‘The grief tourist’ and Nandini Shah for ‘Me, the (failed) revolutionary’. Zana Fraillon was highly commended for ‘A map of passings’.

Open to all Australian writers for fiction, poetry, essay, memoir, creative nonfiction, cartoon or graphic stories, and digital or audio storytelling, the prize was established by Overland literary journal in honour of the late Wiradjuri elder, poet, writer, activist and artist Kerry Reed-Gilbert.

The inaugural prize, which received almost 500 submissions across all categories, was judged by Jeanine Leane, Justin Clemens and Elena Gomez.

For more information see the Overland website.


Category: Awards Local news