Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Age Book of the Year 2021 shortlist announced

The shortlist for the revived Age Book of the Year has been announced.

The seven works of fiction in the running for the $10,000 prize are:

  • The Rain Heron (Robbie Arnott, Text)
  • The Tolstoy Estate (Steven Conte, Fourth Estate)
  • The Living Sea of Waking Dreams (Richard Flanagan, Knopf)
  • A Room Made of Leaves (Kate Grenville, Text)
  • The Labyrinth (Amanda Lohrey, Text)
  • Song of the Crocodile (Nardi Simpson, Hachette)
  • Born into This (Adam Thompson, UQP).

The 2021 Age Book of the Year recognises fiction published between 1 June 2020 and 31 May 2021. The judges for this year’s prize were the Age books editor Jason Steger, poet and critic Thuy On, and author and former literary editor of the Sydney Morning Herald Susan Wyndham.

Now in its 40th year, the award was resurrected in 2021 after a nine-year hiatus, and is among the recent successful recipients of funding from Copyright Agency’s Cultural Fund. The Age says it anticipates the return of the award’s nonfiction prize next year.

The winner of the 2021 Age Book of the Year will be announced during the Melbourne Writers Festival on Friday, 3 September.


Category: Awards Local news