Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Colin Roderick Award 2021 shortlist announced

The shortlist for the $20,000 Colin Roderick Award, administered by the Foundation for Australian Literary Studies (FALS) at James Cook University, has been announced.

The six shortlisted titles are:

  • Consolation (Garry Disher, Text)
  • Melting Moments (Anna Goldsworthy, Black Inc.)
  • The Survivors (Jane Harper, Macmillan)
  • Infinite Splendour (Sofie Laguna, A&U)
  • Witness (Louise Milligan, Hachette)
  • A Lonely Girl is a Dangerous Thing (Jessie Tu, A&U).

Established in 1967, the award is presented to the author of the title the judges determine is the best book published in Australia in the previous calendar year that deals with ‘any aspect of Australian life’.

Last year’s winner was Sally Young for Paper Emperors: The rise of Australia’s newspaper empires (UNSW Press). For more information about the Colin Roderick Award, see the FALS website.


Category: Awards Local news