Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Shortlist for 2021 National Biography Award announced

The State Library of New South Wales (SLNSW) has announced the shortlist for the 2021 National Biography Award.

The shortlisted works are:

  • The Lotus Eaters (Emily Clements, Hardie Grant)
  • One Bright Moon (Andrew Kwong, HarperCollins)
  • Max (Alex Miller, A&U)
  • Truganini: Journey through the apocalypse (Cassandra Pybus, A&U)
  • Tell Me Why (Archie Roach, S&S)
  • Penny Wong: Passion and principle (Margaret Simons, Black Inc.).

This year’s award was judged by Suzanne Falkiner, Rick Morton and Mandy Sayer, who also highly commended the following titles:

  • The Shelf Life of Zora Cross (Cathy Perkins, Monash University Publishing)
  • Into the Suburbs: A migrant’s story (Christopher Raja, UQP)
  • Lowitja (Stuart Rintoul, A&U).

Each shortlisted author receives $2000. The winner, to be announced on 26 August, receives $25,000. In addition, the $5000 Michael Crouch AC Award will be awarded to the best debut biography or memoir.

The winner of the 2020 award was Patrick Mullins for Tiberius with a Telephone: The life and stories of William McMahon (Scribe).

For more information about the award, visit the SLNSW website here.


Category: Awards Local news