Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

NZ Sir Julius Vogel Awards 2021 winners announced

The winners of this year’s Sir Julius Vogel Awards for New Zealand Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror have been announced.

The winners include:

Best novel—adult

  • The Stone Wētā (Octavia Cade, Paper Road Press)

Best novel—young adult

  • These Violent Delights (Chloe Gong, Hachette NZ)

Best novella/novelette

  • No Man’s Land (A J Fitzwater, Paper Road Press) 

Best collected work

  • The Voyages of Cinrak the Dapper (A J Fitzwater, Queen of Swords Press)

Best professional artwork 

  • Laya Rose, for the cover art for No Man’s Land (A J Fitzwater, Paper Road Press).

The Sir Julius Vogel Awards are administered by the Science Fiction and Fantasy Association of New Zealand (SFFANZ) and were presented at the organisation’s one-day event in Wellington on 7 August.

For the full list of awards, visit the SFFANZ website.


Category: Local news