Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

SLQ 2021 Young Writers Award winner announced

The State Library of Queensland (SLQ) has announced that Ellen Vickerman is the winner of the 2021 Young Writers Award.

Vickerman wins a $2000 cash prize for her story ‘Sun Queens’, which will be published in Griffith Review. Vickerman also won the same award in 2020 for her story ‘Unit K13’.

Judges Julie Koh, Jack Vening, Carody Culver and Meleika Gesa-Fatafehi said Vickerman’s story ‘is confidently and evocatively written, with a vivid, palpable sense of place and impressive use of language’.

The three runners-up, who each receive a $500 cash prize and a Queensland Writers Centre membership, are:

  • Zarin Nuzhat, ‘Friday’
  • Ellie Kaddatz, ‘Precious Cargo’
  • Eden Annesley, ‘Halcyon’.

The Young Writers Award, presented in partnership with Griffith Review, is an annual award for Queenslanders aged 18–25. For more information on the winners and runners-up, visit the SLQ website.


Category: Awards Local news