Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

CBCA Book of the Year 2021 winners announced

The winners of the 2021 Children’s Book Council of Australia (CBCA) Book of the Year Awards have been announced.

The winning titles and honour books in each category are:

Older readers: winner

Older readers: honour books

Younger readers: winner

  • Aster’s Good, Right Things (Kate Gordon, Riveted Press)

Younger readers: honour books

  • The Stolen Prince of Cloudburst (Jaclyn Moriarty, illus by Kelly Canby, A&U)
  • Worse Things (Sally Murphy, illus by Sarah Davis, Walker)

Early childhood: winner

  • No! Never! (Libby Hathorn & Lisa Hathorn-Jarman, illus by Mel Pearce, Lothian)

Early childhood: honour books

Picture books: winner

Picture books: honour books

  • Not Cute (Philip Bunting, Omnibus)
  • Your Birthday Was the Best! (Maggie Hutchings, illus by Felicita Sala, Affirm)

Eve Pownall Award for information books: winner

  • Dry to Dry: The Seasons of Kakadu (Pamela Freeman, illus by Liz Anelli, Walker)

Eve Pownall Award for information books: honour books

  • The Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Dangerous Animals (Sami Bayly, Lothian)
  • Strangers on Country (David Hartley & Kirsty Murray, illus by Dub Leffler, NLA)

CBCA Award for new illustrators: winner

  • This Small Blue Dot (Zeno Sworder, Thames & Hudson).

The winners and honour books were chosen from shortlists announced in March.

For more information about the CBCA Awards, see the CBCA website.


Category: Local news