Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Stella Prize rebrands, expands eligibility

The Stella Prize has revealed a new identity and website in a rebranding announcement to mark 10 years of the prize.

Under its new identity the organisation has announced changes to its eligibility. In addition to fiction and nonfiction titles, single-authored poetry collections will now also be eligible to enter the prize.

This year’s judging panel will be chaired by Melissa Lucashenko. Lucashenko is a former Stella judge and two-time Stella Prize-listed author, she was the winner of the 2019 Miles Franklin Award for her novel Too Much Lip. Lucashenko will be joined on the judging panel by Declan Fry, Cate Kennedy, Sisonke Msimang and Oliver Reeson.

Worth $50,000, the 2022 Stella Prize is open to books published in the 2021 calendar year and authored by cis, trans and non-binary women.

For more information, see the Stella website.


Category: Awards Local news