Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Richell Prize 2021 longlist announced

Hachette Australia and the Emerging Writers’ Festival (EWF) have announced the longlist for the 2021 Richell Prize for emerging writers.

The longlisted writers will be judged on the first three chapters of their submitted work of adult fiction or nonfiction, with the winner to receive $10,000 in prize money along with a 12-month mentorship with one of Hachette Australia’s publishers. Hachette will work with the winning writer to develop their manuscript, with first option to consider the finished work and shortlisted entries for publication.

The 16 longlisted writers, chosen from over 850 entries, are:

  • Ben Randall
  • Bridget Lutherborrow
  • Brigita Ozolins
  • Danae Sweetapple
  • Emma Di Bernardo
  • Jessica Kirkness
  • Kate James
  • Kay Harrison
  • Lisa Guest
  • Natasha Agafonoff
  • Odette Des Forges
  • Paul Marshall
  • Rebecca Howden
  • Sarah Fiddelaers
  • Simone Jordan
  • Zachary Pryor.

The judging panel for the 2021 prize includes Hachette Australia publisher Vanessa Radnidge, author Hannah Richell, editor and writer Jasmin McGaughey, Australian Booksellers Association CEO Robbie Egan and The Leaf Bookshop owner Katy Downey.

Now in its seventh year, the Richell Prize has been awarded to writers including Else Fitzgerald, Ruth McIver, Sam Coley and, most recently, Aisling Smith.

The shortlist for the 2021 prize will be announced on 8 October, with the winner announced on 4 November. For more information, see the EWF website.


Category: Awards Local news