Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Varuna announces 2022 residential fellowships

Varuna the National Writers’ House has announced the recipients of the Varuna Residential Fellowships for 2022.

The writers and their projects are:

The Eleanor Dark flagship fellowship

  • Katherine Brabon, for her work of autofiction ‘Body Friend’ 

The Eric Dark flagship fellowship

  • Lauren Fuge, for her nonfiction narrative work ‘Voyagers: Our journey into the Anthropocene’

The Varuna poetry flagship fellowship

  • Madison Godfrey, for their collection of poems ‘Dress Rehearsals’

The Jerra Studio flagship fellowship

  • Heather Taylor Johnson, for her hybrid nonfiction work ‘Dear Vincent’

The Ray Koppe/ASA young writer’s fellowship

  • Sarah Stivens for her poetry manuscript ‘Therapeutic Discomfort’

Varuna residential fellowships

  • Adele Dumont for essay collection ‘Bezoar’
  • Renee Treml for children’s graphic novel ‘Breathe’
  • Stephen Carleton for playscript ‘Brutal Utopias’
  • Liz Evans for ‘Catherine Wheel’
  • Benjamin Hickey for suspense novel ‘Common Ruin’
  • Rachel Bowen for YA novel ‘Hyena’
  • Kylie Ladd for commercial fiction ‘I’ll Leave You With This’
  • Gurmeet Kaur for poetry collection ‘Instructions on English’
  • Tanya Davies for fantasy/speculative fiction ‘Killing Widows’
  • Robyn Cadwallader for historical fiction ‘Not Less Than Anything’
  • Hugh McGonagle for novel ‘Peninsula’
  • Rebecca Giggs for narrative nonfiction ‘PET: The future of the animals we keep’
  • Kelly Gardiner for YA novel ‘Roar’
  • Catherine Moffat for crime novel ‘Snapper Point’
  • Carol Major for novel ‘The Chinese Woman’
  • Chris Womersley for novel ‘The Empire’
  • Amanda Curtin for historical fiction ‘The Longhair Fella’
  • Katia Ariel for memoir ‘The Swift Dark Tide’
  • Michelle Michau-Crawford for novel ‘What’s Home Supposed to Mean, Anyway?’
  • Sian Campbell for novel ‘When This is All Over’
  • Bruce Nash for novel ‘Woman Without a Password’
  • Sonia Orchard for creative nonfiction ‘Womankind’
  • Jannali Jones for YA novel ‘Yenda’.

Varuna received more than 400 applications for residency fellowships from published and unpublished writers.

For more information about the fellowships, see Varuna’s website.


Category: Awards Local news