Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

$100k Historical Novel Prize shortlists announced

The Historical Novel Society Australasia (HNSA) has announced the shortlists for 2021 ARA Historical Novel Prize.

The novels shortlisted in the adult category are:

  • Bila Yarrudhanggalangdhuray, River of Dreams (Anita Heiss, S&S)
  • Our Shadows (Gail Jones, Text)
  • The Burning Island (Jock Serong, Text).

The novels shortlisted in the children’s and young adult (CYA) category are:

  • The Grandest Bookshop in the World (Amelia Mellor, Affirm)
  • We are Wolves (Katrina Nannestad, HarperCollins)
  • The Mummy Smugglers of Crumblin Castle (Pamela Rushby, Walker Books).

The shortlists were chosen from longlists announced in early September.

The winner of the adult category receives $50,000 while the winner of the CYA category winner receives $30,000. The remaining shortlisted authors across both categories will each receive $5000. The addition of the CYA category this year means the Historical Novel Prize, with prize money totalling $100,000, is the richest genre-based literary award in Australasia.

The winners will be announced at the HNSA virtual conference on 22 October. The 2021 judging panel for the adult category included Nicole Alexander (chair), Carmel Bird and Roanna Gonsalves, while the judging panel for the CYA category included Paul McDonald (chair), Thuy On and Catherine Mayo.

Mirandi Riwoe won the inaugural $50,000 prize last year for her novel Stone Sky Gold Mountain (UQP).

For more information see the HNSA website.


Category: Awards Local news