Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Goldsmiths Prize 2021 shortlist announced

In the UK, the shortlist for the 2021 Goldsmiths Prize, worth £10,000 (A$18,700), has been announced.

The shortlisted novels are:

  • Checkout 19 (Claire-Louise Bennett, Jonathan Cape)
  • Assembly (Natasha Brown, Hamish Hamilton)
  • A Shock (Keith Ridgway, Picador)
  • This One Sky Day (Leone Ross, Faber)
  • Sterling Karat Gold (Isabel Waidner, Peninsula Press)
  • little scratch (Rebecca Watson, Faber).

Established in 2013 by Goldsmiths University of London, the prize rewards fiction that ‘breaks the mould or extends the possibilities of the novel form’ and ’embodies the spirit of invention that characterises the genre at its best’.

Recent winners of the literary award include The Sunken Land Begins to Rise Again by M John Harrison (Gollancz) and Ducks, Newburyport by Lucy Ellmann (Text).

The winner of the 2021 Goldsmiths Prize will be announced on 10 November. For more information, see the prize website.


Category: International news