Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Bragg Prize for Science Writing shortlist announced

The shortlist for this year’s UNSW Press Bragg Prize for Science Writing has been announced.

The shortlisted pieces are:

  • ‘The COVID–climate collision’ by Jo Chandler (Griffith Review)
  • ‘Everlasting free-fall’ by Ceridwen Dovey (Alexander)
  • ‘Soundings’ by Rebecca Giggs (Scribe)
  • ‘Hail hydrogen: Powering the debate on future fuel’ by Nicole Hasham (Griffith Review)
  • ‘The virus detectives’ by Fiona McMillan (Cosmos)
  • ‘To the Dragon Palace and back’ by Jackson Ryan (

The winner of the Bragg Prize receives $7000 and two runners-up each receive $1500. The shortlisted pieces will be published in the forthcoming anthology The Best Australian Science Writing 2021 (ed by Dyani Lewis, NewSouth, November).

Presented by NewSouth Publishing for short nonfiction pieces of science writing that have been written for a general audience, the Bragg Prize for Science Writing is named in honour of Australia’s first Nobel laureates, William Henry Bragg and his son William Lawrence Bragg.

The winner of the prize will be announced on 30 October on ABC Radio National’s The Science Show. For more information, visit the NewSouth Publishing website.


Category: Awards Local news