Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

T S Eliot Prize shortlist announced

In the UK, the shortlist for this year’s T S Eliot Prize for Poetry, worth £25,000 (A$46,100) has been announced.

The 10 shortlisted poetry collections are:

  • Eat Or We Both Starve (Victoria Kennefick, Carcanet)
  • Ransom (Michael Symmons Roberts, Jonathan Cape)
  • Stones (Kevin Young, Jonathan Cape)
  • Men Who Feed Pigeons (Selima Hill, Bloodaxe)
  • The Kids (Hannah Lowe, Bloodaxe)
  • All the Names Given (Raymond Antrobus, Picador)
  • A Blood Condition (Kayo Chingonyi, Chatto & Windus)
  • single window (Daniel Sluman, Nine Arches Press)
  • C+nto & Othered Poems (Joelle Taylor, Westbourne Press)
  • A Year in the New Life (Jack Underwood, Faber).

The prize is the most valuable in British poetry and received a record 177 submissions this year.

Chair of judges Glyn Maxwell, who announced the shortlist at the Cheltenham Literature Festival, said: ‘We are delighted with our shortlist, while lamenting all the fine work we had to set aside. Poetry styles are as disparate as we’ve ever known them, and the wider world as threatened and bewildered as any of us can remember. Out of this we have chosen 10 books that sound clear and compelling voices of the moment.’

The winner will be announced on 10 January 2022.


Category: International news