Inside the Australian and New Zealand book industry

Image. Advertisement:

Arts NT Varuna Fellowships announced

The recipients of the 2021 Arts NT Varuna Residency Fellowships have been announced.

Presented in partnership with the Northern Territory government, the fellowship gives six writers from the Top End and three writers from Central Australia mentoring and funding to support the develop of new work.

The recipients are:

In-house residency

  • Joanna Bell (Darwin), ‘for Lyre Lyre, an experimental novel combining documentary poetry with illustration and narrative verse’.
  • Dina Davis (Darwin), ‘for Assia, a sequel to the previously published novel Capriccio’.
  • Betty Sweetlove (Alice Springs), ‘for The Nestmakers, a screenplay exploring climate anxieties and disruptive dreams’.

Virtual residency

  • Jessica Wallace (Nhulunbuy), ‘for Tidy Town, a literary fiction that tackles racism and social issues in a mining town’.
  • Leni Shilton (Alice Springs), ‘for The Visit, poetry telling the story of an AusAid worker returning to Papua New Guinea’.
  • Onil Lad (Darwin), ‘for Auth Anon, a novel about a self-help group for writers, a dysfunctional literary critique group and a team of multicultural council workers battling to complete their novels’.
  • Judith Monkhouse (Darwin), ‘for Bitter Rain, a literary fiction following a journalist returning to the corrupt dictatorship of her homeland’.
  • Linda Wells (Alice Springs), ‘for The Bungalow, a creative non-fiction based on research about the Bungalow, a tin shed, in Alice Springs in 1914–1929’.
  • Annie Ingram (Top End) ‘for The Mess She Left, a memoir reflecting on death, family, responsibility and inheritance’.

This year the assessing panel ‘observed that submitted works showed striking originality and compelling storytelling’.

For more information, see the Varuna website.


Category: Awards Local news